Update

Remember the list I was talking about in an earlier post – how to live a better life in 100 ways ? I just wanted to update you on my progress.

The waking up early didn’t work so well: first couple of days were awesome – even though I fell asleep at around 1:00 or 2:00 am I woke up pretty early, feeling rested and amazing. It was as if my brain acknowledged my decisions and intended to do everything he could in order to make me happy. But then, exhaustion struck.

I’ll have to admit, I did not stick to any schedule and I threw any plan I might have had out the window – I didn’t even use an alarm clock – because hey, look at how good my brain is at following orders. That was mistake number one, but there’s a whole party following it: I didn’t go to sleep when I started to feel tired, because 10:00 pm is just not an appropriate bedtime hour, I stayed on computer till the very last moment, I ate a lot in the evening, I didn’t have a routine which involved going to sleep and waking up at the same hour and in the morning I would just go online and not do anything productive. So there you have it – the chaotic approach. Now that I know everything I did wrong, I think I’ll give it another try, this time doing everything by the book.

And in addition to that, I am going to start doing something else…

64. Meditate Daily

It’s the easiest thing you can do. True mediation acts like a mind emptier, leaving you open to the whole flow of the sensations and experiences you would otherwise ignore. You don’t even need a complicated technique, meditate as you see fit.

I swear, it’s like I read that list and thought “Hm, let’s just take the most ridiculously not-me suggestion and see where it takes us.”. It’s crazy and all I can say is that hopefully I am not going to turn in some religious freak who always smiles and advocates the miracles of the universe and how love is the cure for everything.

***

A later edit: What the fuck have I gotten myself into?! Googling “how to meditate” is like opening the freaking Pandora’s box!

” […] As we breathe out we imagine that we are breathing away all disturbing thoughts and distractions in the form of black smoke that vanishes in space. As we breathe in we imagine that we are breathing in all the blessings and inspiration of the holy beings (you have got to be kidding me…) in the form of white light that enters our body and absorbs into our heart.”

Maybe this is too extreme for me.

Leave a Reply

