(Not so) deep thoughts on happiness

Spring is just around the corner and, as always during this period of year, the fashion world goes crazy. Not that I am very updated on what is going on in that world, because I am a fan of clothes, not of fashion per se. I am however updated with some fashion blogs (because of the pretty clothes mostly) and man, do these people lack originality! Every year, every freaking season you read the same things. The same old headlines. The same old articles about the same old trends.”Spring has sprung, bring some colour in your wardrobe”. “Floral prints – are they in or out?”. “Help your hair beat the winter blues”!. And while everyone is debating whether they should wear colour tights, here I am having an epiphany regarding the meaning of life.

No, not really.Well, kind of.

It started with thinking about the purpose of this blog, where I really like to write. Originally I was going to write about happiness and how to achieve it (I did have a clearer image of what is was going to be like, though) but in time the idea faded and I just struggled to keep afloat while feeling all this horrible pressure to write about I really intended, except that wasn’t what I wanted anymore. And now here’s the shocker: happiness. It is all bullshit.

Another contributor to this realization was a review on this book, “The happiness project”, which I’m sure it’s great and I’m also sure that the lady who wrote is a very happy being, but:

 She’s not struggling to find happiness amidst real trials – illness, poverty, loneliness, relatives who drive you bonkers – she just wants to be “happier.”

BAM. I felt almost guilty when I read this part because that was what I was trying to do – “struggling” to find happiness in an ideal environment. So, my conclusion is that the pursuit of happiness is overrated. Unless you suffer from chronic depression or something like it (although I’m sure there’s some treatment for that, too), there’s only one thing you should do: get real. Look around you, see how amazing some things are, ignore the things that aren’t and do whatever makes you feel good. And I tried my best to say it without sounding cheesy.

As for my blog, fuck testing theories or trying to be happier or staying motivated – expect to read more about me, my new life in Switzerland, many photos and some drawings (I just got a new sketchbook so I’m really excited about that part!).

Tschüss!

3 thoughts on “(Not so) deep thoughts on happiness

Leave a Reply

